Menu

BY Creative

Making your creative visions, digitally wonderful

Contact Info

Bell 6, Floor 2, St Matthews Church, Brixton Hill,
London, United Kingdom SW2 1JF
[email protected]
+44 (0) 20 7613 5638

We practice Ethical Design.

BY Creative | 2017 Year in review

BY Creative | 2017 Year in review

Over halfway through the first month of the new year and time is already zooming by. Now that everyone is back in the groove from the holiday season (and with #BlueMonday now out of the way), we take time out to review 2017 and high five on what was an eventful, exciting rollercoaster of a year for us all at BY Creative.

New Year, new campaigns

As an agency, one of our first objectives of Q1 2017, was to build new business relationships while maintaining existing collaborations. The first two months of the year saw this happen in a dovetail effect. This included campaigns for:

Morrisons Supermarket, Microsite delivery

Continuing from the tail end of 2016, we wrapped up web development on a series of Morrisons ‘MorriNews’ Google Sites, for the UK Supermarket chain, that we had been working on six months earlier.

Morrisons
BY Creative web development: created for Morrisons ‘Morrinews’ web pages.

Your Future, Your Ambition 

We also kicked off the year in full creative fashion, working on the newly pitched 1-year creative marketing campaign, for the STEM charity Your Future, Your Ambition. Our team was delighted to relaunch the Social Enterprises brand (logo refresh, website, and creative marketing). This coincided with the charities annual STEM Event held at the Emirates Stadium, for students to gain brighter futures and careers in STEM industries.

Your Future, Your Ambition (YFYA) STEM event, Emirates Stadium. October 2017.

Tech awareness and diverse collaboration

Further tech events followed in March with our agencies Founder, Alex Addae-Brobbey, presenting at the Ministry of Justice alongside Mark Martin (Founder of UKBT) on behalf of Wonder Women in Tech, an American diversity initiative founded by Lisa Mae Brunson.

This was followed by a burst of tech events, teaming up alongside General Assembly and UKBT to provide evening debates and sessions on ‘Diversity in the UK tech industry’.

Our time with the General Assembly, lead to new connections with Nasdaq which provided our first in-house creative talk, taking place at their London offices alongside UKBT and in association with the Women In Nasdaq initiative.

UKBT, Women In Nasdaq and By Creative at Nasdaq’s London Head Office. June 2017.
From left: Alex Addae-Brobbey, Nadya Powell (Founder, Innovation Disorder), Leyya Sattar (Co-Founder, The Other Box), Roshni Goyate (Co-Founder, The Other Box), Azadeh Akbari (Founder, Lync Media Group) & Glodie Ifura (Account Executive, We Are Social). General Assembly Diversity in the Workplace debate. May 2017.

Relaunches and returns

The month of Easter brought along further internal developments, this time with the launch of our new agency website and showreel to match! April also saw us moving back to our eternal home Brixton, finally after months of looking and delays, spaces missed, other places falling through. It all happened and thankfully pointed us back in one direction. Alex took over as President of the business network BNI Bloomsbury,  helping our agency build strong relationships with businesses in Bloomsbury and the central London District.

BNI Bloomsbury, London. August 2017.

Here comes the Summer | Growing our team and capabilities

We entered the summer months in July with a digital creative presentation, alongside digital entrepreneur Paul Barry-Walsh at a fundraising ceremony organised by Paul and his Foundation, The Frederick’s Foundation promoting new diverse businesses in the UK.

The final quarter of the year also saw us boosting up our sales division with dedicated senior agency experience in the form of Micky Ndah who joined BY Creative as Head of Sales and Marketing. As a company, we also strengthened in welcoming Susanne to our team as Board Advisory.

From left: Micky Ndah (Micky Ndah, Head of Sales and Marketing, BY Creative) with Susanne Currid (Strategic Advisor) to the BY Creative board. December 2017.

The home stretch

As the Autumn drew in, we reached new heights with our first double page national spread for one of our favorite movie franchises Fast & Furious, in September. A great team effort and collaboration with the teams at Universal Pictures.

We had the pleasure of working on the creative artwork for the record-breaking movie franchise, with its latest installment, ‘The Fate Of The Furious’. This print campaigns went to press in the Metro (29th September 2017).

Working to place the artwork within a customised “snake advertorial” template, we were faced with the unique challenges of ensuring that the artwork flowed cohesively across a double page spread.

We worked on creating concepts, mockups, and various run outs to meet these specifications to promote the blockbuster movie within a broad print advertising space.

The challenge we faced was trying to tease out elements of the film’s storyline, including key action moments, whilst including all of the main characters without giving too much away. This was a fantastic collaborative process and we worked alongside the films highly talented media team to deliver this.

BY Creative print creative marketing: designed for The Fate Of The Furious (Universal Pictures). September 2017.

Working in partnership with the movie franchise owners, we feel proud that our collaborative process helped to create a press advertisement that we feel has done the action movie franchise justice. After all the production of any strong creative work requires a great collaborative process and team effort.

The community and beyond

We ended the year with community and charity being our focus over December and going forward into 2018.

We built a new local connection and collaborative partnership with Brixton Soup Kitchen. Our ambition is to further support the kitchen in 2018 with free design stationery and materials wherever they need, including behind the scenes support and a continuous and regular relationship throughout this year.

Supporting Solomon and the Brixton Soup kitchen gave us new foresight and ideas about where we want to take our agency and what we want to become together as a team and for the local community. How can we help those locally and nationally more through what we know creatively and what we do digitally? That is our ambition and one of our main focuses.

The vision

We will shortly be updating in 2018 our plans on support for Brixton Soup Kitchen, along with other charitable causes who we are currently speaking with. This forms part of a mission and initiative that we are launching in January 2018.

Solomon Smith, Founder of The Brixton Soup Kitchen. December 2017.
As we proceed | January 2018 

We hope you have all had a great kick-off to the new year and here’s to 2018. The new year doesn’t mean everything has to or should change for the sake of a calendar year coming to an end.

So let’s go forward with positivity and focus like we did previously!